John Adams Dollar

The United States Mint started issuing Presidential $1 coins in 2007 until 2011. As a result of a large stockpile of unused $1 coins the US Mint stopped minting them in 2011. Today the Presidential coins are being minted for collectors. They feature the image of one president, in the order that they served. The first issue was in 2007 with Presidents Washington, Adams, Jefferson and Madison.

On the obverse of the coin is the image of President John Adams and “John Adams”  inscripted on top and at the bottom “Second President 1797-1801”. At the reverse is a design of the Statue of Liberty with the inscription “$1” and “United States of America”. The coins also feature an edge-incused inscription of the year of minting or issuance, E PLURIBUS UNUM and the mint mark.



 Sacagawea – Native American Dollar Coin >>

Crispus Attucks – Black Revolutionary Silver Dollar Coin >>

Why is Benjamin Franklin in the $100 Dollar Bill >>

Harriet Tubman – The first woman featured in a US Dollar note >>